Introduction to Collaboration Permissions
Collaboration Permissions is a feature that gives you a fine-grained permission system for defining actions allowed by individual users when multiple users are working on the same document.
Collaboration permissions allow a user to:
- View an annotation, comment, or form field
- Edit an annotation, comment, or form field
- Delete an annotation, comment, or form field
- Fill out a form
- Reply to a comment thread
These permissions are based on the configuration present in the JSON Web Token (JWT). Since these permissions can’t be modified on the client side, they’re more secure than the previously existing client-side restrictions.
Collaboration Permissions doesn’t handle the creation of annotations, comments, or form fields. Such permissions are granted by specifying the
write permission in the
permissions array in the JWT.
Permissions are available for any Server installation with Instant enabled in the license.
If Collaboration Permissions is enabled, by default, the user is not allowed to perform any of the actions unless specified. In our next guide, Getting Started, we’ll see how to enable the Collaboration Permissions feature.